This past summer has been a very eventful and memorable one. I’m currently in the middle of a 13 hour flight back to the United States with former teammate/current NBA player, Anthony Tolliver and former Wichita State guard, PJ Couisnard. These long international flights are really getting old, but the experiences I have encountered on my journeys are well worth it. After spending the majority of my summer in China playing in the NBL, I took another trip to Australia, but this one was a little different. Instead of playing for money, I was playing for a better purpose, Jesus Christ, I guess you can say it was more like a mission trip, to not only serve God, but also the Perth Wildcats, which is a professional team in the National Basketball League in Australia.

Myself, Tolliver and Couisnard spent a week in Perth to play on a semi-pro team, the Lakeside Lightning, which is a club funded by Lakeside Baptist Church. Our week consisted of playing basketball, site seeing and most importantly serving God. Although we were a bunch of random guys thrown together on a team, we were able to come away with a win the last game. There are a few people who have sacrificed a lot to make this trip possible and a success. The people in Australia were great to us and took care of us very well. For us to be able to have opportunities like this is really a blessing.

Special thanks to Gary Petersen, the GM of the Lakeside Lighting who arranged for me to fly over to Perth at the very last minute and took care of not only myself, but the other guys who flew over to play. Thanks to the Dunkley family, who hosted me and welcomed me in their home all week.